EuroTrip Part Deux – Day 5 – Florence

Ponte Vecchio

Ponte Vecchio

Boboli Garden

Boboli Garden

The David and me

The David and me

Ciao! It’s our last day in Italy and we packed in a couple more sites. We woke up early and headed over to the Accademia Gallery to view Michelangelo’s David. The line to get in looked daunting but moved fairly quickly. While in line we started talking to a family who was from San Francisco but had family based in Irving. To make this am even smaller world, the wife was originally from St. Louis… North County to be exact and went to Hazelwood West. Talk about a small world! We talked home sports teams, our respective cities and then it was time to head in.

Accademia was filled with lots and lots of Catholic artwork dipicting the lives of Jesus, Mary and various saints. If you are into Catholic history, Italy is definitely the place to come. I feel like I’ve reconnected a little with my religion having spent time here. Next we viewed the David. Very impressive and very LARGE. I wasn’t prepared for how tall it actually is in person.

Anywho after that we stopped for lunch at a pizzeria and I ate the entire thing. Let’s just say I’m eating my way through this trip but have a definite plan to get back on track when I get home. Following lunch we browsed shops and split a gelati just before we crossed the Ponte Vecchio. I didn’t realize all the stores that were based on the actual bridge so crossing it was pretty fun for me.

Lastly, we ended the day at the Giaradino di Boboli (or Boboli Garden). It was extremely beautiful but so hot… I recommend perusing if you’re ever in Florence in the spring or fall… But otherwise beautiful with great views overlooking the city.

We ended the day with another rooftop happy hour and took advantage of the awesome views and free hors d’oeuvres. Now it’s time for bed since we have to be up at 4:30AM tomorrow for our flight to Paris!

Leave a Reply

