EuroTrip Part Deux – Day 6 – Paris

Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower

Ready for the Crazy Horse! Tre magnifique!

Ready for the Crazy Horse! Tre magnifique!

Duet toilette... Bring a friend to pee alongside you

Duet toilette… Bring a friend to pee alongside you

Eiffel Tower and Siene River

Eiffel Tower and Siene River

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Bonjour! Hola! Buongiorno! Sorry I’m having a language crisis since we’ve been in three different countries in the last forty-eight hours. I’m posting a day late about our stop in Paris since we had a late night last night and blog writing was the last thing on my mind.

So Paris… I’m sad we only had a day there because it was truly tre magnifique! First impressions… Clean, classic and surprisingly friendly. Our hotel, the Hyatt Vendome was the nicest hotel we’ve stayed at on this EuroTrip… Thank you, Todd and your love for points! We arrived at the hotel, checked in and enjoyed a lovely Parisian breakfast. They had typical stuff… Croissants, pan de chocolate, toast, meats, cheeses, etc but my biggest surprise was when going to drink what I thought was milk with my breakfast ended up being something of a liquified yogurt. Very unexpected but not terrible. When our room was ready it was true luxury. How many hotels can you say have a sink and mirror within the shower? I guess if you want to look yourself in the mirror while showering, this comes in handy. Interesting.

We hopped on the metro and our first stop was the Eiffel Tower. I mean of course it was… If you come to Paris, you have to go to the Eiffel Tower. On the way there, I sat next to man on the metro that stunk of pungent body odor… His own naturale eau de toilette I suppose… I couldn’t decide if I should breathe through my nose and continue to smell the stink or if I should mouth breathe and potentially taste the odor. It was tangible. I guess what they say about the French being stinky is true!

When we exited the metro I had to stop and pee so I ended up using one of those street toilettes that are self-cleaning. Before you judge, it was cleaner than a porta-potty and super convenient. I felt better.

When we arrived at the Eiffel Tower grounds we were asked to sign a petition for something. Since I couldn’t tell if it was a scam, I gave fake information. Also I will just mention that the girl who approached me had nasty BO… So much so, you could smell it out in the open air.

We made our way to the landmark and snapped some shots with the selfie stick… We then walked around, observing the tourists, especially the large groups of Japanese tourists that travel in packs and love to take photos making peace signs. There were also little vendors set up so I bought a hat. It was exciting.

We left the Eiffel Tower and headed to the Arc de Triomphe to get some shots. There is also a roundabout of death and it’s fun to watch all the cars circle round the landmark.

After that we went back to the hotel so I could take a nap so I didn’t kill Todd. We woke up at 4:30AM to catch our flight from Florence to Paris so needless to say, I’d hit my limit. Todd let me sleep (smart husband) and went out for more sight-seeing. We then got ready and headed out for the night.

We met the fabulous Megan Craig and Erika Dunham who were also in Paris to have an evening of good French fare and follies. We spotted them on the corner of the street, looking local like a couple of true Parisians… Dallas was in Paris, y’all!

We had dinner and wine at Chez Andre, where I tried escargot for the first time. Mostly tasted buttery and garlicky, which was good because I’m not big on eating a creature that cleans fish tanks by eating the other fishes’ poops. But it’s a delicacy I suppose. I polished off chateaubriand steak and fries because lay off me, I’m starving!

After dinner, we headed to the Crazy Horse, a famous French burlesque show. It was very impressive and tastefully done… Not a nasty strip show at all. As a female, I looked at these gals and felt the show was very liberating… I wanted to be them! They are probably all retired ballerinas (no joke) in the best shape you can imagine. Their acts varied… The had vintage, mod, 80s, bondage… Even a play on Britney Spears’s Toxic… A mix of a 1960s Kit Kat Club and modern day French burlesque. We were all left with our mouths open and couldn’t get over how amazing everything was.

We ended the night at a little bar only Megan could find in a city as large as Paris. It’s called the Little Red Door in the third district and it really did have a little red door in front that you had to duck to enter. The cocktails were impressive, each containing about ten ingredients I’d never heard of with cute names like the Tropicano and the Importance of Being Earnest (can you guess who drank what?). We made friends with two French girls who spoke English and exchanged pleasantries about our different countries. The evening ended with Erika and I doing Latin Fusion dancing in our own little corner of the bar. It was awesome seeing our close friends all the way across the Atlantic… Hands down my favorite night of the trip.

We headed back to get some sleep before we had to get up at 5AM this morning to head to Barcelona (yep-shoot me)… When we got to our room our bed was turned down and there were two plates of macaroons waiting for us, courtesy of the Hyatt… I had sweet dreams last night!

I’ll post about our train ride and arrival in Barcelona tomorrow… I’m about to pass out writing this post. Traveling is exhausting!

Buenos noches!

Leave a Reply

